Board of Directors

Allan Griffiths

Mr Allan Griffiths

B.Bus, DipLi

Independent Non-Executive Director since 2014

More than 30 years’ experience with a deep understanding of the financial services industry. Mr Griffiths has held a number of executive positions within the industry most notably as Chief Executive Officer Aviva Australia and later Managing Director South Asia, Aviva Asia Pte Ltd based in Singapore. Prior to joining Aviva he held executive positions with Colonial Ltd and Commonwealth Bank of Australia.

Significant non-listed directorships

  • Chairman of the Westpac/BT Insurance Boards
  • Chairman of Metrics Credit Partners

Special responsibilities

  • Chairman of the Remuneration Committee
  • Member of the Group Audit Committee
Renato Mota

Mr Renato Mota

Chief Executive Officer

  • Renato has more than 20 years’ experience in financial services with a strength in blending deep strategic insights with hands-on experience in business leadership and execution.
  • He has a track record over a number of years in leading IOOF through a series of forward thinking, strategic initiatives. These include; the development of IOOF’s advice-led strategy; the introduction of our ClientFirst transformation, which began in 2015; and establishing our Advice Academy from 2016, a goals-based coaching and business management program for financial advisers to help improve the quality of financial advice.
  • He joined IOOF in 2003 and has previously worked for Rothschild, NAB and ANZ, and is a CFA charterholder.
Elizabeth Flynn

Ms Elizabeth Flynn

Independent Non-Executive Director
LL.B, Grad Dip AppCorpGov, FAICD, FFin, FGIA, FCIS.

Independent Non-Executive Director since 2015

Ms Flynn has more than 30 years’ experience in the financial services industry, including roles within law and corporate governance as well as executive responsibilities. From 1998 to 2010, Ms Flynn was the Chief Legal Counsel, Group Compliance Manager and Group Company Secretary of financial services group Aviva Australia, and a director of NULIS Nominees, Aviva Australian’s superannuation trustee company. Prior to her time at Aviva, Ms Flynn spent 18 years as a commercial lawyer with Minter Ellison, including eight years as a partner, specialising in managed funds, banking and securitisation and superannuation. Ms Flynn was a director of Bennelong Funds Management from 2010 to 2015.

Significant non-listed directorships

  • AIA Australia Limited
  • Victorian Government's Emergency Services Superannuation Board

Special responsibilities

  • Chair of the Risk and Compliance Committee
  • Member of the APRA Regulated Entities Audit Committee
  • Member of the Remuneration Committee
John Selak

Mr John Selak

Independent Non-Executive Director

Independent Non-Executive Director since 2016

Mr Selak has over 40 years’ experience in the financial and advisory services industry. From 2000 to 2016 he was a partner in the Corporate Finance Practice of Ernst & Young, providing valuation services to a broad range of local and international clients and also serving on their Global Corporate Finance Executive.

Significant non-listed directorships

  • Chairman of Corsair Capital
  • Non-Executive Director of Turosi Food Solutions

Special responsibilities

  • Chairman of the APRA Regulated Entities Audit Committee
  • Member of the Risk and Compliance Committee
  • Member of the Group Audit Committee
Andrew Bloore

Mr Andrew Bloore

Independent Non-Executive Director

Independent Non-Executive Director since 2019

Andrew Bloore is an experienced Non-Executive Director, entrepreneur and farmer. He has designed, built and sold a number of businesses, focussed on the development of key disruptive technologies and distribution services in traditional markets, to create business efficiencies. Businesses Andrew has been actively involved in, both as an Executive and / or as a Director and in the capacity of investment funding, development and leadership, include:

  • Superannuation Administration (Smartsuper and SuperIQ).
  • Superannuation software design (Class Super).
  • Manufacturing (marine products and surf equipment and manufacturing in China).
  • Engineering (ignition systems for engines).
  • Accounting (traditional tax accounting, management consulting and business advice firm).
  • Rural Property and food production (cattle cropping and currently developing intensive agriculture indoor vertical farming).

Throughout his Executive career, Andrew has worked on a range of Senate and Treasury Committees, and with the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Regulations Committee on regulation for the superannuation industry. In 2016, Andrew sold his superannuation administration business to AMP, stepped down from the Senate and Treasury Committees and is now focussed on contributing to organisations as a Non-Executive Director.

Significant non-listed directorships

  • FBR Ltd
Michelle Somerville

Ms Michelle Somerville

Independent Non-Executive Director
BBus (accounting), M App Sc, FCA, GAICD

Independent Non-Executive Director since 2019

Michelle Somerville is an experienced Non-Executive Director, bringing deep and relevant finance, risk and governance experience to the Board, having worked in the financial services industry in both her executive and non-executive roles. Previously she was an audit partner with KPMG Australia for nearly 14 years, with a focus on the financial services industry in both Australia and overseas.

Other listed directorships

  • The GPT Group

Significant non-listed directorships

  • Bank Australia